Camden County Planning Board Minutes July 18, 2007

7:00pm Upstairs Courtroom Camden County Courthouse

Chairman James Burnham Vice Chairman Rodney Needham Members Terri Griffin, Ray Albertson, Michael Etheridge, Calvin Leary, and John Aydlett

Call to Order & Welcome

Chairman James Burnham called to order the July 18, 2007 meeting at 7:02 PM.

Consideration of Agenda

Chairman Burnham called for the consideration of the agenda. Staff requested that under Items from Board and Staff an additional be added. Item # 3, Pending Major Subdivision consultation, was added to the agenda. Hearing no further amendments, Michael Etheridge made a motion to approve the agenda as amended. Calvin Leary seconded the motion. The motion was approved with Chairman James Burnham, Vice Chairman Rodney Needham, members Terri Griffin, Ray Albertson, Calvin Leary, Michael Etheridge, and John Aydlett voting aye; none voting no; none absent; none not voting.

Consideration of the Minutes- June 20, 2007

Chairman Burnham called for a consideration of the minutes. Vice Chairman Rodney Needham found a clerical error starting at line 100 -103. The secretary noted the error. Vice Chairman Rodney Needham made a motion to approve the minutes with corrections. Michael Etheridge seconded the motion. The motion was approved with Chairman James Burnham, Vice Chairman Rodney Needham, members Terri Griffin, Ray Albertson, Calvin Leary, Michael Etheridge, and John Aydlett voting aye; none voting no; none absent; none not voting.

Comments from the Public.

Chairman Burnham asked if there were any comments from the public other than any of the items on the agenda. Hearing no comments, the meeting proceeded.

New Business

Special Use Permit UDO # 2007-05-22 Camden Automotive & Truck Repair

Staff stated that this item was on a previous agenda but was removed at that approval stage of the agenda.

Staff presented the finding of facts and asks for approval with conditions and modifications stated in the finding of facts.

Planning board member, John Aydlett, showed concerns about the parking and standards as stated in the Ordinances. Staff addressed the concerns and the applicant, Mr. Charlie Cartwright, was questioned about those concerns.

Hearing no further comments, Calvin Leary made a motion to approve the application. Michael Etheridge seconded the motion. The motion was approved with Chairman James Burnham, Vice Chairman Rodney Needham, members Terri Griffin, Ray Albertson, Calvin Leary, Michael Etheridge, and John Aydlett voting aye; none voting no; none absent; none not voting.

Information from Board and Staff

1) Discussion about Wind Energy -(see insert information provided in your packet)

Staff provided handouts of a sample ordinance. In addition, John Aydlett provided an article written by Monte Mitchell entitled- <u>Ashe Commissioners Adopt Wind- Energy</u> <u>Ordinance</u>. Staff stated that they would be happy to present a more polished proposal after getting additional input from the Planning Board and other sources.

2) Discussion concerning the August 20th Workshop with the Board of Commissioners

The staff polled the Planning Board to get a consensus of questions and topics that the Board considers important items to address at the upcoming Commissioners and Planning Board meeting in August. Board members discussed locations and brainstormed ideas to help facilitate productive talks with the Commissioners. Staff agrees to provide an organized agenda and list of topics.

3) Major Subdivisions

The staff updated the Planning Board about the status of the five Major Subdivisions proposed in Camden County. Staff sought advice on how to best present the proposals to the public. Staff stated that the Score Cards are being prepared this week. Further planning for the public input will be discussed at the August 15, 2007 Regular Planning Board Meeting.

Consider Date of Next Meeting – August 15, 2007

<u>Adjournment</u>

At 8:30 PM, Ray Albertson made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Michael Etheridge seconded the motion. The motion was approved with Chairman James Burnham, Vice Chairman Rodney Needham, members Terri Griffin, Ray Albertson, Calvin Leary, Michael Etheridge, and John Aydlett voting aye; none voting no; none absent; none not voting.

Date:_____

Approved:_____ Chairman James Burnham

Attested: